What’s on the Ballot State of Texas 2022



U.S. House of Representatives
Texas has a new 38-district congressional map that incorporates two new House seats, which the state gained due to its population growth.

U.S. House of Representatives, Texas District 4
Pat Fallon (R)
Iro Omere (D)
Josh Simmons (L)

U.S. House of Representatives, Texas District 1
Nathaniel Moran (R)
Jrmar “JJ” Jefferson (D)


The governor is the chief executive of the state of Texas and is elected by the citizens every four years. The governor has the power to sign and veto bills passed by the state legislature, serve as commander-in-chief of the state’s military forces, convene special sessions of the legislature, grant reprieves and pardons, and fill vacant positions via appointment. Additionally, the governor is responsible for delivering the “State of the State” address and an annual state budget report and budget recommendation.
Greg Abbott (R)
Beto O’Rouke (D)
Mark Tippetts (L)
Delilah Barrios (G)

Lieutenant Governor
The lieutenant governor, the second‑highest executive in the state, presides over the Texas Senate.
Dan Patrick (R)
Mike Collier (D)
Shanna Steele (L)

Attorney General
The attorney general is the top lawyer in Texas, representing the state in mostly civil litigation.
Ken Paxton (R)
Rochelle Garza (D)
Mark Ash (L)

Comptroller of Public Accounts
The comptroller is the state official responsible for collecting taxes, overseeing the state treasury and forecasting the amount of money that’s available to legislators when they craft the state’s two-year budget.
Glenn Hegar (R)
Janet T. Dudding (D)
V. Alonzo Echevarria-Garza (L)

Commissioner of the General Land Office
The oldest state agency in Texas. The General Land Office manages state lands, operates the Alamo, helps Texans recovering from natural disasters, helps fund Texas public education through the Permanent School Fund, provides benefits to Texas Veterans, and manages the vast Texas coast.
Dawn Buckingham (R)
Jay Kleberg (D)
Alfred Molison, Jr. (G)

Commissioner of Agriculture
The agriculture department supports farmers and administers school lunch programs.
Sid Miller (R)
Susan Hays (D)

Railroad Commissioner
In Texas, the Railroad Commission regulates the oil and gas industry.
Wayne Christian (R)
Luke Warford (D)
Jaime Andres Diez (L)
Hunter Crow (G)

The Texas Supreme Court
The Texas Supreme Court is the state’s highest civil court, has nine justices who hold their office for terms of six years. Three of the nine seats on the Supreme Court are up for election this year.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3
Debra Lehmann (R)
Erin A. Nowell (D)
Thomas Edward Oxford (L)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5
Rebeca Huddle (R)
Amanda Reichek (D)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9
Evan Young (R)
Julia Maldonado (D)

The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals is Texas’ highest court for criminal cases. The Court consists of a Presiding Judge and eight Judges. They hold their offices for terms of six years. Two of the nine seats on the Supreme Court are up for election this year.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5
Scott Walker (R)
Dana Huffman (D)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6
Jesse F. McClure, III (R)
Robert Johnson (D)

Member, State Board of Education, District 12
The State Board of Education (SBOE) sets policies and standards for Texas public schools. There are 15 districts within the SBOE. Every seat is up for election because the districts were redrawn last year.
Pam Little (R)
Alex Cornwallis (D)
Christy Mowrey (L)


Texarkana Independent School District Proposition A

Texarkana Independent School District Proposition B

Republican Party (R), Democratic Party (D), Independent (I), Libertarian Party (L), Green Party (G)

< Previous Story Next Story >

Print Edition

November 2022
Print Archive



© 2022 All Rights Reserved.
Design By: WebProJoe.com Web Design